Q

Get a Free Consultation

(215) 985-0777

    Spam Filter:  

    Q
    Get a Free Consultation

      Spam Filter:  

      Statute of Limitations for Slip & Fall Accident Lawsuits in Pennsylvania

      Individuals hurt in slip and fall accidents in Pennsylvania often don’t seek legal help until it’s simply too late to take action. The average PA resident usually isn’t aware that they have legal rights after a fall accident. By the time an injured individual seeks help from our Philadelphia slip and fall accident law firm, it’s too late. That’s why it’s critical to seek legal help as soon as possible after an accident happens. Doing so will best preserve legal rights and also increases the chances of winning a slip and fall accident lawsuit.

      What’s the statute of limitations for fall accident cases in Pennsylvania?

      Under Pennsylvania law, an individual injured in a slip and fall or trip and fall accident has 2 years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit for injuries and damages caused by the accident. See 42 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes § 5524(2) (current as of September 13, 2019), which puts a 2 year limitation on:

      An action to recover damages for injuries to the person or for the death of an individual caused by the wrongful act or neglect or unlawful violence or negligence of another.

      When does the statute of limitations period start for fall accident cases?

      Slip and fall accident cases are pretty straightforward in terms of when the statute of limitations clock starts ticking. The clock starts running on the date of the accident. It’s a strict rule with practically no exceptions. In rare cases, you could argue that a general exception to the 2 year clock applies, like in cases of fraud or where the plaintiff was incapacitated. However, these exceptions hardly ever apply to fall accident cases.

      Example: A Philadelphia resident is injured when she trips over a marble entry way of a store on Walnut Street in Center City. The incident happens on September 1, 2019. She has until September 1, 2011, exactly 2 years, to file a lawsuit.

      What happens if you miss the statute of limitations deadline?

      Unfortunately, the statute of limitations law for any injury case is a hard and fast rule. If you’re late by even one day, the case would ultimately be dismissed. This is true even if there was an honest mistake.

      Slip & Fall Accident Law Firm

      Our Pennsylvania injury law firm accepts slip and fall and trip and fall accident cases across the Southeastern PA region including Philadelphia, Delaware and Montgomery counties. We pride ourselves on being available to our clients and always work to achieve the best possible results. FREE CONSULTATIONS (215) 985-0777

      Personal injury cases accepted in Philadelphia, Delaware County, Montgomery County, and throughout other parts of Pennsylvania and New Jersey.

      FREE CONSULTATIONS (215) 985-0777

      {

      Jordan Namerow is a lawyer who goes above and beyond. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking legal representation on a personal injury case.

      {
      5
      April G.
      {

      I had a fabulous experience using Jordan Namerow as my attorney. He was knowledgeable, personable, honest, responsive, and best of all, easy to talk to. 

      {
      5
      Tara D.
      {

      Jordan is a great lawyer. He is very efficient, loyal and supportive. I would recommend him to anyone. He gets the job done. 

      {
      5
      Terrance M.
      {

      Mr. Jordan Namerow a very good attorney, I would recommend him in a heart beat. The company is good, just good all around. Thank you.

      {
      5
      Kim O.
      {

      I really thank you for helping me with everything, best lawyer ever.

      {
      5
      Pablo D.
      {

      Great, professional, nice, takes his time to make sure you understand everything.  Ensures everything will be taken care of.

      {
      5
      P.B

      Who Is Liable for a Slip, Trip or Fall Accident at a Philadelphia Business?

      Philadelphia Fall Accidents - Who is Liable? Page last reviewed and updated: July 1, 2020 When customers are hurt in a slip and fall or trip and fall accident at a public business, like a restaurant, museum or bar, what are their legal rights?  Pennsylvania law allows...

      Trip & Fall Injury Claims in Philadelphia, Delaware & Montgomery Counties

      During the 2020 quarantine, residents of Philadelphia, Delaware and Montgomery counties are increasing grocery store and big box store visits, while decreasing other daily activities like driving. People are also walking or exercising outdoors more, especially since...

      Slip & Fall Accidents in Pennsylvania – Insurance Claims

      Many slip and fall accident victims don’t know that their cases are often covered by an insurance policy belonging to the home or business where the accident happened. Injured pedestrians can get compensated via insurance policies of store owners, home owners, etc.

      Slip & Fall Accident Law in Delaware County, PA

      Fall Accidents – Common on Sidewalk & Parking Lots In Delaware County, slip and fall accidents usually occur on sidewalks or parking lots in both businesses and residential areas such as shopping malls, stores, apartment complexes, etc. Fall accidents can also...

      Proving Negligence in Landlord Fall Accidents in Philadelphia

      Can You Sue a Landlord for a Fall Accident in Philadelphia? Under Pennsylvania law, tenants and their guests can sue landlords for fall accidents in public areas like walkways, hallways, parking lots, etc. However, there must be evidence of negligence on the part of...